Despite a great number of people being proud Prestonians (me being one of them) I am afraid to say, it doesn’t really offer those from other cities much in terms of big brand names. Preston is however starting to build on it’s shopping offering with the success of Matilda’s Boutique and the arrival of Fat Face.

I am really liking the fact that those in the retail field are starting to show a bit of initiative to get people in the shops. I recently helped support  St George’s Shopping Centre with it’s fourth annual Student Lock-In event which saw more than 9,000 students flock through the doors to gain freebies and exclusive discounts. I also visited both Peter Jackson the Jeweller who now has a brand new Gucci counter and today Pandora held a launch event for the Breakthrough Breast Cancer collection, giving customers the opportunity to enter a prize draw to win one of the beautiful bracelets.

I’m really pleased retailers are really thinking abut what their customers want and reacting before Preston loses the great brands it has attracted.

Pics below;

More pics and shopping news on the St George’s Facebook page